Florida State University is a public and coeducational institution. It is a senior member of the ten state universities that compose the State University System of Florida. The main campus of the University is located in Tallahassee, the state's capital. Florida State University also offers degree programs in Panama City, Sarasota, and the Republic of Panama. Florida State University has built a reputation as a strong research institution in both the sciences and the humanities. Private foundations, industries, and government agencies all provide funding to support research at FSU. In 1994, Florida State was accorded the status of Research I University by the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching, an elite distinction that recognizes the university's strengths in doctoral programs and federal funding. The mission of the Florida State University Marine Laboratory is to develop, coordinate, facilitate, and promote both research and education programs in marine sciences. The FSU/NMFS Institute for Fishery Resource Ecology (IFRE) was established in May 1995 under a Cooperative Agreement between the Florida State University (FSU) and the National Marine Fisheries Service (NMFS). IFRE serves as a vehicle to combine university and agency expertise to address marine resource issues of the northeastern Gulf of Mexico that affect Florida, the southeastern United States, and the rest of the nation.

Field of Focus
Major University