The National Institute for Undersea Science and Technology (NIUST) was established in 2002 in partnership with NOAA's Undersea Research Program (NURP) to develop and apply new technologies that enhance undersea research. NIUST is made up of three divisions: the Ocean Biotechnology Center & Repository (OBCR), the Seabed Technology Research Center (STRC), and the Undersea Vehicles Technology Center (UVTC) which broadly encompass the fields of biotechnology (e.g., biomedical and agrochemical products) and engineered technologies (e.g., instrumentation development) in the marine environment. NIUST is providing cutting edge technologies to NURP and their constituencies to further the nation's research capabilities in nearshore, deep water, and extreme marine environments.

The overall goal of the National Institute for Undersea Science and Technology is to bring together academic or other research organizations to promote, conduct, and lead integrated, multidisciplinary undersea research commensurate with the directives of the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) National Undersea Research Program (NURP).

NIUST is based at The University of Mississippi (Oxford, MS) and at The University of Southern Mississippi (Stennis Space Center, Ocean Springs, MS). NIUST provides support and instrumentation to the NURP regional centers, as well as extramural grant support to the federal and non-federal communities. In addition, NIUST scientists are funded to develop new technologies and problem-solve techniques/technologies in various marine habitats.

Field of Focus
Integrated, Multidisciplinary Undersea Research